top of page

Renewing my Spiritual Walk

This picture is of me in my senior letter jacket. At this point in my life I was waiting on my acceptance letter into the college, and preparing myself for the fainals and standardized testing that all seniors had to deal with. One thing was for sure, I was practically and unavoidably dead in spirit.

One has to wonder how this was... I was already preaching and had plenty of Biblical knowlege, but I was still spiritualy unsound. The answer is: I was unfocused. I was focusing on everything but my call that he gave me. It is not bad to say that I knew that I was unfocused but didn't care. I graduated and went to college to major in music, Trombone to be more specific.

When I stepped into my first music Theory class I sat down only to hear those horrible and dreaded words leave my proffesors lips, "You have a test." And we did. Theory went great for half of the semester untill I heard that preverbial cry in the wilderness, the call that I heard when i went into the ministry, telling me that I was not to stay as a music major.

So i did what any good son would do to his mother, "Mom, I am dropping the only hope of a secure future and taking up a hypothetical major that public colleges don't really have in hope of being able to enroll in a seminary in the future..."

To say that she flipped was and still is an understatment. So I finished up that semester with a passing GPA and enrolled in the few Bible classes that they have here. It was that initial call that brought me back to reality and realizing that my life isn't supposed to be lived for me, but instead I gave my life to his will and purpose for my life.

"Show yourself in all respects to be a model of good works, and in your teaching show integrity, dignity, and sound speech that cannot be condemned, so that an opponent may be put to shame, having nothing evil to say about us." -Titus 2:7-8

-AW


Featued Posts 
Recent Posts 
Find Me On
  • Facebook Long Shadow
  • Instagram Long Shadow
bottom of page